Ways to work through triggers


On further breakdown of how to work through a trigger and lengthening the fuse, we listed what our weakness would be to be triggered. I am going to write out what mine were. Remember, this isn’t written in stone, this is just what I and a few of my group members feel would trigger us. I think in the coming days and weeks, as things come up for me, I will edit and add them to their respective lists. 

What makes you susceptible to triggers 

If it is easier for you, change the word susceptible to “weakens”.

  1. Receiving communication from my mother
  2. Lack of sleep
  3. Isolating myself
  4. Poor nutrition
  5. Too much time on the computer
  6. Lack of sunshine
  7. Exposure to triggers 
  8. Judgments
  9. Not take medications
  10. Not seeing family around the holidays
  11. Loss/grief

How can you build resiliency to triggers every day?

If it helps change the word resiliency to “strengthens”. 

  1. Getting consistent sleep (unbroken)
  2. Eat healthily
  3. Make sure you are keeping your fluid intake up
  4. Get outside
  5. Exercise (walking, swimming, gym)
  6. Opening the blinds
  7. Setting (SMART) goals 
  8. Mindfulness/Self Acceptance
  9. Reaching out for help
  10. Enjoying a hobby
  11. Watching old classic movies
  12. Grooming horses
  13. Volunteering
  14. Spending time with my pets
  15. Enjoying crossword puzzles (in women’s world magazine)
  16. Knitting
  17. Monitor how much exposure I have to media coverage of violence
  18. Avoid viewing problems as impossible (black and white thinking)
  19. Accept that change is part of life (this is a challenge for me)
  20. Take clear action (Act on adverse situations as much as you can)
  21. Maintain a hopeful outlook (Optimism is learned and nurtured over a period of time)
  22. Keeping things in Perspective and Avoid “Catastrophizing” (Try to consider stressful situation in a broader context, and keep a long term prospective)
  23. Nurture a positive view of yourself (Developing confidence in your ability to solve problems and trusting your instincts helps build resilience)
  24. Engage in opportunities of self-discovery (learning something new about yourself often shows that I have grown in some respect as a result of my struggle with loss). 

As I build resiliency, self harm will be further down the list of options/actions. 

I never thought of things I enjoy as strengths against triggers. I just assumed it was sleep, dietary, exercising. I know that as moments come up for me, I will have to make an effort to add them to this list, so that when I look back, I have this to fall back on, and refresh my memory. 

Image

 

3 thoughts on “Ways to work through triggers

  1. Great timing on this post for me. I was triggered this week and it was a tough one. I spend way too much time avoiding triggers and not enough time strengthening myself against them. Thanks for the reminder. Back to the self-care full strength.

    Best wishes to you on your path to healing and peace.

    Happy Sharefest. Have a great weekend.

    1. I’m very happy to hear that my blog was a benefit for you! I know all to well about avoiding triggers. Now, I have no choice but to feel the feelings, and those are tough, but I believe it will get better. Thank you for visiting my blog! Feel free to come back anytime!

Comments are closed.