Trauma and Repressed Memories


One of the consistent things I have learned about myself is that my mind has troubles with moments and memories. 

A few years ago, while in group therapy, I had begun to experience really intense dreams. When I shared them with group members, I realized that what I was having was repressed memories.  Until then I didn’t know any different about my past life. 

Sometimes I have days where my mind remembers easily, things of my childhood, words flowing out of my mouth as any other person would. However, I have noticed that I have huge gaps in my mind of moments of my life where I not only do not remember, but I also have trouble getting words out of my mouth. It feels like they are all jumbled and trapped; stuck in a cage, blackness all around. My brain draws a blank, not able to form sentences and say them. 

 

Image

