Anti Bullying Day 2013


Today is Anti Bullying Day, it is the last Wednesday of February in Canada. It is the sixth anniversary of its commence which originally started as a protest against a bullying incident at a Nova Scotia high school (Central Kings Rural High School).

The original event was organized by David Shepherd, and Travis Price of Berwick, Nova Scotia, who bought and distributed 50 pink shirts after a male ninth grade student was bullied for wearing a pink shirt during the first day of school. [1]

In 2008, Premier of British ColumbiaGordon Campbell proclaimed February 27 to be the provincial anti-bullying day.[2] It was then celebrated on February 25 in 2009. In 2009, the boys and girls club work on pink T-shirts that say “Bullying Stops Here.” and “Pink Shirt Day” for Anti-Bullying Day.[3]

information taken from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anti-Bullying_Day.

I have been bullied as have many people. Being adult having a mental illness does not change that fact either. I have often felt people try to bully because they feel my mental illness inhibits what I would say or not say back to them. Rather for me, I actually fight back, because it triggers my rage issues. 

So please take a moment and wear PINK, you may just save someone’s life. Image

 

3 thoughts on “Anti Bullying Day 2013

  1. Pingback: Homepage

Comments are closed.