Falling through the cracks of the mental health system


I was reading another blog and the link that was attached has really irritated me. I am really bothered by the various cutbacks in my township. What more has to happen so that everyone who struggles with mental illness receives treatment?

I challenge every constituent currently running in the election, to present an outline of how they will improve the mental health system so that everyone (including myself) stops falling through the cracks; to the people who have died because of not having a support system available to them; to the after hours mental health telephone system being discontinued, where are those in need supposed to call?

“One in four British Columbians suffer from some form of mental illness. This can range from depression to severe mental illness. When cuts come, the first place the government seems to target are the services for these patients,” said Gill.

“We are at Abbotsford Regional Hospital today (May 9) because just recently it has felt the effects of these cuts. It contains a closed adolescent psychiatric ward and a now only half open adult ward. Just a week ago, the mental health after-hours information telephone line was discontinued.”

Credit to:

Read more: http://www.abbotsfordtimes.com/news/Abbotsford+candidate+calls+creation+mental+health+agency/8368854/story.html#ixzz2T79hVC9b

 

2 thoughts on “Falling through the cracks of the mental health system

  1. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you present here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, fantastic blog!

  2. In my town they have closed down the day hospital. This means that if you are really poorly, the only option now is to be an inpatient..Whereas before you could stay in hospital during the day, recieve medication and therapy, and go home again in the evening. A much less distressing alternative to inpatient. I am worried how much more will be cut. I don’t understand why it always seems to be mental health services that are the first to be dropped. Dumbfounding!

Comments are closed.