Shame vs Healthy Guilt


I know right, your probably wondering how the two aren’t the same. Earlier this week in my self esteem group therapy session, this was our topic. Right off the bat I read a sentence outloud:

Shame says there IS something wrong with me. 

Guilt says I have DONE something wrong.

After I read that, I became puzzled. For as far as I can remember, I have felt that the two are intertwined. The object of this discussion was to show and being to understand that there is a difference.

So we used the example of breaking a plate.

1. When I did what I did I told myself: Holy Crap (Guilt) then I would catastrophize which is when your thoughts become larger. Mine would go to “I’m going to get into trouble”. 

2. One of the things I might learn from the experience is: as a kid the object is more valuable than I am. (this is how it is interpreted, most likely not what it is).

3. One of the ways to avoid this mistake in the future is: “to take back my thought” which is called (Mastery)

4. I would like myself more:“by recognizing that the situation isn’t as bad as it feels”

5. When I act against my personal values: “I feel like I am sabotaging my healthy values” (which is what my adult mind believes).

6. I am becoming aware that if I learn from this experience without judgment, I: “am free (as an adult) to say its ok, let’s make it better. 

7. As I imagine how I would feel if I behaved more appropriately in the future,- “my reaction is being able to cope, to accept and move forward”. 

The last question didn’t sound right to me, so we as a group broke it down and reworded it, hence my answer being more authentic to what I believe.

Self Esteem Therapy has been a real eye opener and am glad it goes til the end of September. After that I roll onto 2 other groups, of which they are both very intense.

I have really found these sessions, combined with my medication are helping me with my bpd and bipolar.

 

Optimisim

 

 

4 thoughts on “Shame vs Healthy Guilt

  1. Shame is such a crippling thing, isn’t it? This is a very vulnerable, and good look at shame vs. guilt, and something that I have thought about in my own life. I think it is only in self-examination that we can begin to break the destructive cycles of shaming ourselves over, and over again. We can choose to live in freedom. Thanks for the good read!

Comments are closed.