World Suicide Prevention Day – Trigger Warning


Trigger Warning:  As indicated by the title, this post discusses suicide.  Not graphically, and not in detail, but if the topic is especially triggering to you, you may want to make the choice not to read on.

Today is September 10, 2014, a day that has be designated for World Suicide Prevention Day by the International Association for Suicide Prevention (IASP). I know this hits home for many people, including myself and my family. I also know from my previous post on people being narrow-minded regarding mental illness which you can read here https://sexyonthedarkside.wordpress.com/2014/09/09/narrow-mindedness-and-mental-illness/, the biggest fear is not discussing the topic of mental health and suicide.

I know for myself when days are very, very hard, the feeling of being alone is what makes me feel there is no one there who understands what it is I live with. It is this feeling of alone that causes so many people to believe there is no other solution to their problems, but that can never be undone.

I believe to change this is to talk! Talk about your fears, talk about your feelings of hopelessness, surround yourself with people who are open, sensitive, are not judgmental. Together we can make a difference.

Please read more on this on the link  http://acanvasoftheminds.com/2014/09/10/world-suicide-prevention-day-2/. There is a wealth of information that I haven’t shared.

Just remember, if you need help, reach out to me. Call me, email me, text me, I will listen and be your shoulder. You are not alone.

National Suicide Prevention

 

