Music and Mental Health


I will be doing another blog after this one as I have been hit with a ton of emotions following my first day at my new group.

This blog is about how music has impacted me and my mental health.

This morning I was watching the Today Show and in there concert segment was one of my favorite bands… Fleetwood Mac.

Talk about a memory of my childhood! All original members were there and as I listened, I found myself going back in time where I didn’t have to think, that I was safe whether it be in my mind or my room or wherever I was at that moment. For those few moments I enjoyed variety of songs, but it was one by Stevie Nicks called “Gypsy” that really had me tearing up.

You can watch it here on YouTube http://youtu.be/6L85WLhjQ84.

I found on my drive to my group this morning that I was singing in the car and I noticed that I was listening to the words I was saying and understanding why it had me feeling emotional. “Gypsy” represented my life. The not having the stability or structure, but I got through it.

Mentally, I find music helps calm my mind. I often will have music on low in my car or maybe on my laptop.

How about you? What helps calm your mind?

images (15)

music clef

P.S. Did you enjoy this message? If so, please share it with your friends so they can benefit from schmoozing. Then, if you want to get more messages like this one, connect with me via my social links below or hop aboard my notification list. I would like to keep in touch.

6 thoughts on “Music and Mental Health

  1. I love listening to music. I listen to music while I exercise. I listen to music while I’m on the computer (I have a playlist on my blog :)). I listen to music when I need something to cheer me up. Besides music, prayer helps calm my mind. I lay all my burdens and anxieties in God’s hand and let go. He is in control, not me. Liberated and at peace.

  2. I don’t think people realize how much music helps in everyday life even if one does not struggle with mental illness. I too, struggle with a mental illness and have found throughout the years that music helps the symptoms of my mental illness. I also knows that it helps many others who too struggle with mental illness. Thank you for sharing.

Comments are closed.