Medication – doesn’t cure all


I, like some of you who are my fellow readers, are on various medications. Often I read of people who want to increase their medications because they feel they aren’t doing anything. The first thing I think of is:

  1. Is it a new medication?
  2. How long have you been on this current medication?
  3. Are you doing anything outside of medication (I.E. therapy, group therapy)?

I just feel many people and pharmaceutical companies think that medications alone will make everything all better and in my experience it won’t. Its not possible.

Personally my regime consists of:

  1. Medication
  2. Group Therapy – Eating Disorder
  3. Psychiatrist
  4. Support Group – Eating Disorder
  5. Group Therapy -Women’s Support for Sexual Abuse Survivors

I know I am no where near being “cured”, as I know my bipolar is genetic. My Major Depressive Disorder, Borderline, Anxiety and OCD, I’m hoping with a lot of work and time will settle down and as my confidence and self esteem improves. I know I must find ways to cope around the holidays; as they trigger my chronic insomnia among other behaviors.

Borderline’s don’t like being alone and have issues with abandonment. I can certainly attest to that, yet it is things like social anxiety that freeze me in my tracks from social interaction.

What I’m trying to say is just remember that medications don’t fix all, that it does take work by you and sources available to you to help you cope with your mental health.

if-its-important-to-you

7 thoughts on “Medication – doesn’t cure all

  1. Totally agree that medication doesn’t cure all (or even, cure much, in many cases). In my opinion medication has gained such a hold on society mainly because it is profitable and easy (i.e. easy in that it allows “professionals” to just give someone a pill without understanding them and their history).
    Good luck on your journey toward getting better… if at some point you are interested in an alternative theory to the one that says that bipolar is genetic and ingrained, check out the writing of Jay Joseph, for example The Gene Illusion. The genetic basis of bipolar is not nearly so strong as is commonly supposed and asserted by psychiatrists.

  2. Dialectical Behaviour Therapy is the best treatment for Borderline Personality Disorder. It helped me recover. Are you doing DBT?

  3. My other thought was how dangerous it is to mix medications. It’s scary how many meds some people are on and you do read about people suffering all kinds of complications or worse from mixing the wrong meds.

    Aside from that – I’ve learned over the past few years how helpful it is to write daily “Attitude of Gratitude” posts on Facebook, because it forces you to dwell on positive, encouraging things, which in turn can actually make you feel better physically.

  4. Sharon, I’m visiting from the UBC. You are so right that medication doesn’t do everything! I love your protocol for these conditions. For those of faith, a short regular morning spiritual practice is very helpful to keep one grounded and optimistic. For those not of faith, affirmations morning and evening can remind one of how one wants to feel–mood goals, if you will. Thanks for a great post.

Comments are closed.