Girl Interrupted


Its been awhile since I have seen this movie, but its one I relate to so very well. In case you haven’t seen it, it stars Winnoa Ryder and Angelina Jolie dealing with borderline personality disorder.

It doesn’t even matter that the genre is 1960, the behaviors of the patients and their mental illnesses feel the same to me as it most likely is to the characters and their struggles with the outside world as it was back then. I reflect on my life, having being asked if it was like that for me (I have had a stay in hospital and I was asked if what was on tv was actually how it was); I felt insulted because I knew I wasn’t being asked out of concern, I was being asked out of sarcasm.

While there have been some improvements today, the need for support hasn’t changed; many people struggle, often with no where to turn and where they can turn, the lines to see someone are long and patience is thin.

The biggest thing we need to do with your illness is to get it out; to write it down; to release it – Whoopi Goldberg

Every day I write in my gratitude journal; each week I write my victories down. Does it help? I really believe it does. I hope to minimize my meds some day; but I accept that being bipolar does complicate things a bit.

JohnnyDepp2

2 thoughts on “Girl Interrupted

  1. It is such a shame that mental illness is looked upon with taboo feelings in the united states. It is very much a condition, the same as heart disease or diabetes, or anything else that affects our health and well-being. I hope everyone suffering any afflictions can find remedy to their issues, whether holistic or with typical medical treatment, so they can have a viable and happy life. Is anyone really “normal” and what on earth does that even consist of? Best wishes friend.

  2. People can be very weird about mental illness. I was just telling an online friend (someone I’ve known 24 years online, but never met F2F) that he helped me, many years ago, to understand that someone could be seriously mentally ill and also intelligent, fairly self-aware, have a sense of humor, and not be seriously dangerous – as some people are far too quick to assume. That knowledge has come in handy over the years. And who among us is truly “normal” – or wants to be – anyway?

Comments are closed.