The Dark Side of Mental Health


As with all things in life, there can be a dark side. Mental health doesn’t care who you are – rich or poor.

There has been a very sad news posting of a famous celebrity who herself has passed amid speculation of suicide – although a medical report claim it was an accidental overdose. For those that don’t know who I am talking about, it is Whitney Houston.

Yesterday morning, her daughter with Bobby Brown, was found unresponsive in her bathtub unresponsive. Many have speculated that this may have been a drug overdose, eerily similar to her mother’s passing. Her mother passed February 11, 2012. Bobbi Kristina found her mother dead in the bathtub at the Beverly Hills Hotel the night of the Grammy’s.

Growing up wealthy doesn’t take you away from what the dysfunction brings. There was dysfunction in her childhood, with her parents all of which played out in the media. Mentally I would imagine, upon reflection of my own mental health issues, Bobbi Kristina may have experienced a lot of insecurity around who she could trust in her inner circle as her mother was her entire circle.

I could go on about the comments I have seen and read, most of which are very cruel and incredibly judgmental. However, I choose to rise above it and say that unless any of us have walked in someone else shoes, who are we to judge someone’s state of stability.

As of about 30 minutes ago, Bobbi Kristina’s health has declined rapidly and her doctor’s are saying it doesn’t look good.

That my friends is the dark side of mental health, when you feel that there is no way to end your pain than to overdose and hope that you don’t come back.

Picking up Saved Dogs Today :)


In terms of healing and mental health, I wanted to share how I have incorporated volunteering doing something I love very much 🙂

Everyday Wiggles

Today is one of my favorite things to do; I go and pick up saved dogs from high kill shelters and transport them to the organization who has screened homes waiting for them!

As much as it can be frustrating, as it is today, due to mechanical issues with the van and weather (fog) this morning, all of which push back the arrival time, I know I will always feel the same feeling of happiness when I see them.

Rescue organizations are always looking for people who are wanting to foster animals to a suitable home can be found; if that is you, give a call to your one closest to you!

So, yes, as much as I want to watch the Super Bowl with my husband, we are going to record it and watch it together.

10672402_10153115135714746_985177159527957245_n

View original post