When Trust and Responsibility are broken


I write this here instead of my rescue blog because I will be writing about Trust and Responsibility, both of which apply to my mental health blog AND my animal rescue blog.

I volunteer for animal rescue, namely dogs. I have experienced two rescues who have turned what is supposed to be a positive experience into a breaking of trust and responsibility.

When rescue organizations take on dogs, as part of their agreement, regardless if the animal needs medication, spay/neuter/ or surgery, it is the responsibility of the rescue to cover those expenses. Right now a rescue I helped a dog named Zeus receive surgery by fundraising, has closed shop and is no longer taking responsibility for the expenses for Zeus’ surgery or to the spay as well as behavioral issues of another dog I have been made aware of. Phone calls, emails, and text messages have been sent without a reply. This is completely unacceptable. I have been working with other people today to figure out the necessary steps so that Zeus and other dogs who require medical attention, receive it.

The rescue community does not look kindly to those who seek to take advantage of fundraising because those monies are raised in good faith and are recorded on the account to show coverage of medical expense. In Zeus’ case, only $1,000 was shown, and the fundraising raised was $3,200. At this time, there is no accounting of the other funds.  Today a new fundraiser has been set up for Zeus because he now needs his second surgery, things will be handled very differently so that all involved will see where the fundraising monies went to.

Dogs coming into rescue don’t come just from where I am located, they come from all over so it needs to be noted that some non ethical rescues are going to walk away from their dogs no matter where they come from. Ethical rescues don’t, no matter where their dogs come from. Isn’t it time to focus on how rescue is done rather than from where?

I write this blog because I feel it is very important that people know what they should be aware of. I know there are other rescues out there, some are called “flippers” which means they take on dogs strictly for the money. They do not check out the applicant or their home in screening. Some have been known to adopt “right off the truck” so to speak.

Below is a message on the Go Fund Me Page for ZEUS. Please share his link or if you can, please donate as ZEUS is in real need for the surgery – https://funds.gofundme.com/dashboard/rc8y8z4

I am a volunteer, I am not affiliated with any rescue, I have stepped up to help with running Zeus’ Fundraising.He used to be with a rescue but they shut their doors and Zeus’ foster family have been left to attend to Zeus’ surgery out of pocket. This is unacceptable.

If you can help share this page, or the Go Fund Me Page, or Donate, it would be greatly appreciated!

ZEUS - Marion

5 thoughts on “When Trust and Responsibility are broken

    1. Unfortunately, the funds are not with the veterinarian’s office. I spoke to them recently and they have no record of any of the full amount being used anywhere.

Comments are closed.