Mental Illness and False Beliefs


Never would I have seen the two connected, yet for me they are. The childhood trauma, emotional and mental abuse I endured, caused me to create beliefs that have been to protect me. Not being taught about how to control my emotions, or to feel loved and abandoned, I have carried my beliefs with me since then.

Now my trauma therapy has me examining and observing my beliefs. Its not easy, to examine something you thought was the “right” thing all your life. Here I am 40+ years later and I know the gradual changes will help lift the weight off my shoulders, however, right now its hard to challenge those beliefs. My therapist is excellent at helping me see the thought pattern.

I wonder how many others feel like me? How did you get through this?

I thought long and hard on whether to even write this, because I felt I wouldn’t have anything contribute let alone share.

self-worth-card-timeline-path-one-copy

