Mindcheck Fundraising Success


Image

Last weekend, I joined my Uncle and Sean’s brother Ryan in helping to raise funds for http://www.mindcheck.ca. This week   there was a post on Facebook sharing in the success in raising $3,000.00 for http://www.mindcheck.ca in the memory of my cousin Sean. 

Image

“Ken Richardson of Pastime Sports at Central City presented Mayor Dianne Watts with a Kirk McLean jersey courtesy of Central City. Kirk McLean was on hand and personally autographed the jersey. Ken’s autograph session helped raise $3,000 for the charity Mindcheck.ca in the name of Sean Kilby. If you have not been to Pastime Sports at Central City be sure to check it out. They have something for every sports buff in your life. Thanks to Pastime for another great event.”

This experience of volunteering for such a worthwhile cause has truly helped in knowing that differences can be made in our journey towards getting the word out about support for everyone who has dealt with or is dealing with depression, anxiety, and mental illness in general. That no person will ever feel like they are alone and that there is no one who understands the feelings associated with this painful and isolating experience. 

I know this will never bring Sean back, but what it can do in the long term is insurmountable. 

I miss you Sean, more than I admit. I struggle too because I argue about what it is that has made me fight our illness (bipolar and depression) and continue to do so everyday and yet, it took you to that dark black place where it is and can be so difficult to come back from. 

I know we are all put on this planet for many reasons, perhaps you want me to teach and help other people to learn they aren’t alone, to help them look for the signs to get help and to teach loved ones the signs to look for. 

R.I.P. my cousin, our family thinks of you everyday.

Image