Connecting the Dots


Before I get into my post I wanted to send out a huge THANK YOU to the over 300 readers I have! You have no idea how much this continues to encourage me to share my journey and tools I am learning to help with my mental health and educate you as well.

SnoopyThanks

Now onto today’s topic on this dark, rainy Saturday.

Continuing on with Healthy versus Harmful Anger

ice

See that above, it is a description of how anger works. Trust me when I say it makes a lot of sense.

The material below is from my Womens’ Survivors of Sexual Abuse group.

WHEN IS ANGER HEALTHY AND WHEN IS IT HARMFUL?

Healthy Anger: When anger is expressed out of caring or respect and a desire to restore a relationship or resolve a problem. Attack the problem, not the person.

Harmful Anger: When expressed out of a desire to seek revenge, get even, hurt or attack the person without concern for the relationship or resolving a problem.

IMPORTANT POINTS ABOUT HEALTHY EXPRESSION OF ANGER

  1. Start the right attitude. Setting healthy boundaries with others can promote trust, honesty and intimacy in a relationship.
  2. Is best expressed assertively (honestly, appropriately, directly – respecting the other person).
  3. Deal with the situation making you angry as soon as possible. Don’t leave it or hope it will go away.
  4. Accept responsibility for our own anger and how we handle it.
  5. Your journal may help you:
  •  To prepare yourself to deal with the person
  • If you are unable to speak directly to the person

Hope

3 thoughts on “Connecting the Dots

  1. Great post! We are so quick to dismiss anger as a negative emotion. It can be a useful tool in managing the realities of life, but it has to be managed. I appreciate your honest sharing.

    Like

  2. Excellent advice! Anger can sometimes be useful because it can serve as a catalyst to change. I did say sometimes! Thank you for sharing your journey.

    Like

Comments are closed.